First person singular

Maie Ryo – 真家 崚

I am originally from Ibaraki Prefecture of Japan, located in the northeastern part of the Kanto region (Tokyo is in this region too). I grew up in a small rural city named Omitama (used to be a town named Ogawa till 2006) with a dialect that is characterized by a moderate accent and a particular variety of vocabulary, which people sometimes make fun of me about.

I am currently a second-year doctoral student in the Second Language Studies program at Michigan State University. Before joining the SLS program, I completed my master’s degree in Second Language Acquisition at University of Maryland, College Park, bachelor’s degree at Kanda University of International Studies in Japan, and study abroad at Dartmouth College. Please visit my CV page for more details.

I’ve finally climbed Mt. Fuji on 7-5-2019!

People tell me that I am a too “researcher”, but I often humbly conceive myself as a language learner, teacher, and researcher. As I research on language learning, I also want to teach language as a teacher and learn language by myself as a learner. I have my teaching philosophy available on Teaching philosophy page (which may make you convinced that I am a too researcher – ouch!). 

Personally, I am a big fan of, basically, many things. I have played and watched soccer for almost 15 years and will continue to do so. I found out two years ago that I love outdoor running/jogging such that my current goal is to do a half-marathon within a couple years (not a full, that is too ambitious for me at this point). I often read books and comics during my down time and am addicted to binge-watching popular U.S. and Asian TV shows and movie sequels. I recently started bird watching as a hobby (my recent outing). Oh, I golf too (terrible though). It sometimes makes my life quite hectic doing all of these work, research, and hobbies, but what I like about it is that it is definitely engaging. I mean, why don’t I live my life in the best way possible doing what I love to do? Here for more details about my personal interests.